APWA Northern California 2019 Project Awards Luncheon

On February 21, 2019, Ghirardelli attended the APWA Northern California 2019 Project Awards Luncheon at Albert H. DeWitt Officers’ Club in Alameda.
Each year, APWA asks for nominations for outstanding individuals, teams, and projects representing the best in the public works profession, then hosts a luncheon to present the awards to promote excellence in the management and administration of public works projects, recognizing the alliance between the managing agency, the contractor, the consultant, and their cooperative achievements.
Ghirardelli won two more awards for the eBART to Antioch – East Contra Costa Extension!! The APWA Northern California Chapter’s 2019 Public Works “Project Award, Transportation, Projects More than $75 Million”, and the 2019 Public Works “Project of the Year Award.” In attendance to accept both awards were Carlos Melendez, Kelsey Ballesteros, Darcy Taylor, and Mike Hagerty.

American Council of Engineering Companies (ACEC) Engineering Excellence Award

On February 7, 2019, Ghirardelli attended the ACEC California’s 3rd Annual Scholarship Foundation Fundraising Dinner, presenting the ACEC California Engineering Excellence Awards (EEA). This event was held at the Union Square Hilton in San Francisco, and brought the Scholarship Foundation and EEA together to celebrate the achievements of the Engineering and Surveying industries, while supporting students and strengthening the future of engineering. These awards affirm the fundamental role that ACEC California member firms play in building and maintaining the quality of our infrastructure.
Ghirardelli won an Honor Award for the eBART to Antioch – East Contra Costa Extension. The project extended tracks ten miles east in the median of State Route 4, added two new stations, a parking lot, a train maintenance and operations facility, providing much needed congestion relief on this busy commuter route. Randy Bruner, Kelsey Ballesteros, and Raewyn Butcher were in attendance and accepted the award on behalf of the company.